Radhakhrishnan Memorial Bequest

Subject Area: Indian Studies
Chair: Professor David Gellner
Administrator: Trust funds administrator - trustfunds@ames.ox.ac.uk 


  • The Fund supports (1) the costs of research on India; (2) conferences on Indian subjects and attendance at conferences; (3) it may, under certain circumstances, consider applications for maintenance costs.
  • To apply, please complete the Small Grant Form and send it to the trust funds administrator on trustfunds@ames.ox.ac.uk, along with a cover letter, CV and, for junior members of the University, a letter of support from your supervisor (to be sent by the supervisor directly). Please note that grant applications must be received by noon on Monday of Seventh Week of the term in which you would like your application to be considered. Applications received after that deadline will be considered in the following term.
  • Notes of guidance for students:
    • Masters and Research students may apply once while studying for a degree at Oxford for fieldwork and data gathering purposes, for up to £1,000 (MSc), £1,500 (MPhil) and £3,000 (DPhil);
    • MPhil and DPhil students may also apply once for conference purposes, for up to £500.
    • All students must

      • demonstrate that other funding has been secured or applied for, indicating the amount;
      • provide evidence of ethics approval of research at the time of application or before claiming a grant.
    • The Radhakrishnan Memorial Bequest does not fund the cost of

      • language learning courses - students are expected to join courses already available within the University and at the Language Centre by arrangement with their own departments/faculties;
      • equipment, mobile data etc.


§ 292. Radhakrishnan Memorial Bequest

1. The University accepts with gratitude the sum of £50,000 from the estate of the late Professor Sir Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan to be held as permanent endowment on the trusts declared in this regulation. Further money property may be paid or transferred to the University as either expendable or permanent endowment to be held on the same trusts. The assets so held will be known as the Radhakrishnan Memorial Bequest ("the Fund").

2. The University shall retain as permanent endowment those of the assets in the Fund which are contributed on the express understanding that they are to be treated as permanent endowment (“the Permanent Endowment”).

3. The University shall (a) apply the income of the Permanent Endowment; and (b) apply the income and, in its discretion, the capital of the remainder of the Fund, to enable a scholar to visit the University to give a series of lectures in some field of Indian Studies.

4. There shall be a board of management of the bequest composed of the following persons:

(1) the Vice-Chancellor;

(2) the Spalding Professor of Eastern Religions and Ethics;

(3) the Warden of All Souls;

(4) the Chairman of the Inter-faculty Committee for South Asian Studies;

(5), (6) two persons appointed by the Board of the Faculty of Oriental Studies.

The board of management shall have power to co-opt up to three additional members for such periods as the board sees fit.

5. The board of management shall at least in every other year elect a scholar, with a preference for scholars from outside Oxford.

6. The scholar shall be known as the Radhakrishnan Memorial Lecturer.

7. The board of management shall fix the amounts of the Radhakrishnan Memorial Lecturer’s emoluments and expenses, which shall be paid from the income of the Radhakrishnan Memorial Bequest.

8. Any income not used to pay the emoluments and expenses of the Radhakrishnan Memorial Lecturer may at the discretion of the board of management be:

(a) carried forward for use in a subsequent year;

(b) applied to assist students who are ordinarily resident in the Republic of India and who are studying, or wish to study, in Oxford;

(c) applied in any other way which the board shall think conducive to the promotion of Indian Studies in the University of Oxford.

9. The University may in its absolute discretion in the period ending 21 years from the date of this regulation, instead of applying the income of the Fund in any year, accumulate all or any part of such income by investing it, and holding it as part of the capital of the Fund. The University may apply the whole or any part of such accumulated income in any subsequent year as if it were income of the Fund arising in the then current year.

10. The University shall have power to pay out of the capital or the income of the Fund all costs of and incidental to the creation of the Fund, and the management and administration of the Fund and lecturership.

11. The University may exercise any of its corporate powers in the management and administration of the Fund in so far as those powers are not inconsistent with these regulations.

12. These regulations shall be deemed to be Trust Regulations under the provisions of Part D of Statute XVI.

13. Subject to regulation 14, Council may amend, repeal or add to these regulations in accordance with Part D of Statute XVI, but no amendment is valid if it would cause the Fund to:

(1) cease to be exclusively charitable according to the law of England and Wales; or

(2) be outside the objects of the University. 

14. Any amendment to regulation 3 is an amendment to the main objects of the Fund for the purposes of Part D of Statute XVI and must be approved both by Congregation of the University and subsequently by Her Majesty in Council.

Standing Order

Radhakrishnan Memorial Bequest

The board of management (all ex officio) shall administer the fund in accordance with Statutes, 2000, Ch.IX. Sect. I, p. 711-712. Any surplus income remaining in the funds shall not be subject to a specific spending limit, although the expenditure shall be reported to the Faculty Board from time to time.

The Committee considers applications to the Fund at the end of each term of the academic year. Applications must therefore be received by noon on Monday of Seventh Week of the term in which you would like your application to be considered. Applications received after that deadline will be considered in the following term.

Committee Members

  • Professor David Gellner
  • Professor Diwakar Acharya
  • Professor Imre Bangha
  • Dr Shailendra Bhandare
  • Professor Santanu Das
  • Dr Faisal Devji
  • Dr Nandini Gooptu
  • Dr Anwesha Roy
OS No. 25 SOF B1431 Index BEQ/160



Fund Applications


To apply, please fill out the application form and return it to trustfunds@ames.ox.ac.uk It is always advisable to contact trustfunds@ames.ox.ac.uk if you have any queries regarding your application to any of the Trust Funds listed on the Faculty Website.